Stay Active!

For each show, we provide a section in the event program that lists resources related to the show's theme. These related sites are listed here below the names of each event. For a list of recommended books and movies for activists, click here.

Get involved, stay informed, volunteer, support, and get your voice heard. Check out the following websites.

#AntiSocial: The Dark Side of Social Media (2015)
Center for Digital Democracy – https://democraticmedia.org
Electronic Frontier Foundation – https://eff.org

Closed: NYC Shuts Its Doors To Artists (2014)
Jeremiah's Vanishing New York – https://vanishingnewyork.blogspot.com

Invisible Chains: Inequality in America (2013)
American Civil Liberties Union – https://www.aclu.org
Center for Popular Economics – http://www.populareconomics.org
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People – http://www.naacp.org
National Organization for Women – http://now.org

Retro-Active: 10 Years of Poetic Action (2012)
Please see resources below.

The Revolution Will Be... (2011)
Independent Media Center – www.indymedia.org
Left Turn – www.leftturn.org
The Nation – www.thenation.com
Mother Jones – www.motherjones.org

Price Check: How We Became A Culture Of Consumption (2010)
Take Back Your Time – www.timeday.org
New American Dream – www.newdream.org
Adbusters – www.adbusters.org

Tapped Out: Words About The Water Crisis (2009)
Food and Water Watch – www.foodandwaterwatch.org
Pacific Institute – www.pacinst.org
Blue Planet Project – www.blueplanetproject.net
Alternet – www.alternet.org/water
Charity Water – www.charitywater.org

Activism: The American Way (2008)
American Freedom Campaign – www.americanfreedomcampaign.org
League of Women Voters – www.lwv.org
American Civil Liberties Union – www.aclu.org
Media Matters – www.mediamatters.org

Sick & Tired: A Call for Universal Care (2007)
Physicians for a National Health Program – www.pnhp.org
Health Care for All – www.hcfama.org and www.healthcareforall.org
The Access Project – www.accessproject.org
Health Care Now – www.healthcare-now.org
Overdosed America – www.overdosedamerica.com

Raise the Wage (2006)
Brennan Center for Justice – www.brennancenter.org
National Committee on Pay Equity – www.pay-equity.org
Economic Policy Institute – www.epinet.org
Center for Popular Economics – www.populareconomics.org
National Priorities Project – www.nationalpriorities.org

Coming Clean: Poems for the Earth (2005)
Greenpeace – www.greenpeace.org
Earth Day – www.earthday.net
E Magazine – www.emagazine.com

Voices on Voting and Democracy (2004)
The Center for Voting and Democracy – www.fairvote.org
Democracy Now! – www.democracynow.org
Rock the Vote – www.rockthevote.org
Woodhull Institute for Ethical Leadership – www.woodhull.org

Women’s Words About War (2003)
Poets Against War—www.poetsagainstthewar.org
The Nation—www.thenation.com
Refuse and Resist—www.refuseandresist.org
United for Peace & Justice—www.unitedforpeace.org
Filmmaker Michael Moore—www.michaelmoore.com

Below is a working list of books and movies for activists. To recommend that a book or movie be added, email info@poeticpeoplepower.com

Books and Movies for Activists

Books
Globalization and Its Discontents by Joseph E. Stiglitz
Confessions of an Economic Hit Man by John Perkins
Hope's Edge by Frances Moore Lappe and Anna Lappe
Emergency Sex and Other Desperate Measures by Kenneth Cain, Heidi Postlewait, and Andrew Thomson
Open Veins of Latin America by Eduardo Galeano
Speak Truth to Power by Kerry Kennedy and Eddie Adams
The Green Belt Movement by Wangari Maathai
The Heartless Stone by Tom Zoellner
Declarations of Independence by Howard Zinn
People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn
The Best Democracy Money Can Buy by Greg Palast
The Culture of Fear by Barry Glassner
Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser
Hegemony or Survival by Noam Chomsky
Thinking Points by George Lakoff
Letters from Young Activists by Chesa Boudin, Kenyon Farrow, Bernardine Dohrn, and Dan Berger
Democracy Matters by Cornell West
Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them by Al Franken
Worse Than Watergate by John W. Dean
Making Globalization Work by Joseph E. Stiglitz
The End of America: Letter of Warning to a Young Patriot by Naomi Wolf
Overdosed America by John Abramsom
The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism by Naomi Klein
The True Patriot by Eric Liu and Nick Hanauer
Water Consciousness by Tara Lohan
Water: Use Less-Save More by Jon Clift & Amanda Cuthbert
Blue Covenant by Maude Barlow
Water Wars by Vandana Shiva
Bottlemania by Elizabeth Royte
Affluenza: the All-Consuming Epidemic by John De Graaf, David Wann, Thomas H. Naylor
The Overspent American by Juliet B. Schor
The High Price of Materialism by Tim Kasser
Credit Card Nation by Robert D. Manning
The Paradox of Choice: Why More Is Less by Barry Schwartz
Your Money Or Your Life by Vicki Robin & Joe Dominquez
No Logo by Naomi Klein
Small Acts of Resistance by Steve Crawshaw and John Jackson
You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train by Howard Zinn
Standing Up to the Madness by Amy Goodman and David Goodman
The Next American Revolution by Grace Lee Boggs with Scott Kurashige
Share This: How You Will Change the World with Social Netowrking by Deanna Zandt
The Revolution Will Not Be Funded edited by Incite! Women of Color Against Violence
Occupying Privilege by JLove Calderon
The Spirit Level: Why Greater Equality Makes Societies Stronger by Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett
Store Front: The Disappearing Face of New York by James T. & Karla Murray
Time and Space on the Lower East Side by Brian Rose
CBGB & OMFUG: Thirty Years from the Home of Underground Rock with introduction by Hilly Kristal and afterword by David Byrne
The Culture of Connectivity: A Critical History of Social Media by Josť Van Dijck
The Shallows: How the Internet Is Changing the Way We Think, Read, and Remember by Nicholas Carr
Alone Together by Sherry Turkle
So You've Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson
Take Back Your Time edited by John de Graaf
Work to Live by Joe Robinson
A Geography of Time by Robert Levine
Finding Time: The Economics of Work-Life Conflict by Heather Boushey

Movies
The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
This Is What Democracy Looks Like
An Inconvenient Truth
Outfoxed
The Corporation
Control Room
Why We Fight
Fahrenheit 911
Bowling for Columbine
The Motorcycle Diaries
Hotel Rwanda
Blood Diamond
Syriana
Good Night, and Good Luck
Hacking Democracy
Shut Up & Sing
Flow
The Water Front
Blue Gold: World Water Wars
Maxed Out
The Story of Stuff
Consuming Kids: The Commercialization of Childhood
American Winter
Gideon's Army
Mirrors of Privilege
The Vanishing City
Generation Like by PBS (Netflix)
The Anti Social Network by BBC (YouTube)
The Innovation of Loneliness (YouTube)



© 2016 Poetic People Power. All rights reserved.